Navigating the Software Development Life Cycle

The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a structured methodology that guides software projects from inception to deployment and beyond. It consists of several interlinked phases, each with a specific purpose. The journey begins with "Planning," where project objectives, requirements, and constraints are defined. "Design" follows, outlining the software's architecture and functionalities. "Implementation" involves coding based on design specifications. Thorough "Testing" ensures software quality. Upon successful testing, the software is "Deployed" for users, and "Maintenance and Support" ensures its ongoing performance.

  1. Application Requirement Analysis
  2. Feasibility Study
  3. Design
  4. Coding
  5. Testing
  6. Deployment
  7. Maintenance and Support

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Explained

  1. 1
    Application Requirement Analysis

    The requirement collection is the first stage in web and mobile application development. It is performed by the senior team of business analysts, technical architects, and project managers together with all the industry’s business stakeholders and domain experts.

    • Scope definition of the entire project.
    • Planning for the quality assurance requirements.
    • Definition of anticipated issues, opportunities.
    • Recognition of the risks involved.
    • Timeline definition.
  2. 2
    Feasibility Study

    When the requirement analysis phase is done, the next step is to define and document software needs in the 'Software Requirement Specification' (SRS) document. It has everything that should be structured and created during the application development life cycle.

    There are five main types of feasibility checks:

    • Economic feasibility.
    • Legal feasibility.
    • Operational feasibility.
    • Technical feasibility.
    • Schedule feasibility.
  3. 3

    Based on the SRS document, the team prepares the system and software design to define the IT system architecture. This design phase will be a base for the next coding phase.

    There are two types of design documents that are developed:

    1. High-Level Design (HLD):
    • Brief description of each module and its functionality.
    • Dependencies between modules.
    • Database tables & their main elements.
    • Architecture diagrams.
    • Technology details.
    2. Low-Level Design (LLD):
    • Functional modules logic.
    • Detailed database tables.
    • Complete interface detail.
    • Complete modules input and outputs.
  4. 4

    The next phase is coding itself, which is the most prolonged phase of the software development life cycle.

    Peculiarities of this phase include:

    • Developers should follow predefined coding guidelines.
    • The whole development is divided into tasks for specific modules development.
  5. 5

    Once some part of the software coding is complete, it is sent for testing, and the QA team starts testing the functionality to verify that the application works following the requirements.

    The process includes:

    • QA team finding issues.
    • QA team sending issues to the development team.
    • Development team fixing the issues.
    • QA team rechecking the functionality.
  6. 6

    Once the software is developed and fully tested, the final deployment process is launched.

    The QA team checks the software in the production environment.

  7. 7
    Maintenance and Support

    After the release, the application continues its cycle following three possible ways:

    • Bug fixing.
    • Software upgrade.
    • Enhancement with new features.

Get In Touch

Discover the possibilities with Introps by your side. Reach out to us today and explore how our expertise can elevate your business, drive growth, and exceed your aspirations. Together, we'll chart a path to unparalleled success.

Your message has been sent. Thank you!